Tainted Love

Have you ever wondered if besides people, objects could possibly have souls as well? For instance, I honestly believe that my bike is haunted. Yes I really do. From the moment my beloved bike came to me (read: got stolen and brought to me) the weirdest things started happening to my bike and me.

bike

I was the happiest girl when my bike got delivered to me for only 40 bucks. After at least 2 stolen bikes and some impounded by the community, I was finally able to cycle the canals of my beautiful city again. Score! Unfortunately my bliss didn’t last that long. I started noticing there was something a little bit off about my freshly obtained bike. After only a few weeks I parked my precious, as usual, in the huge bicycle parking lot in front of Amsterdam central station. When I came back from work, he was gone, vanished. The first logical thing to do is call the community impound to see if they brutally took my bike, they did. Even though my he was parked in an official parking spot and safely locked, I guess the community needed some extra cash and decided to take it anyway. Bastards! It costed me 35 euro to get my bike delivered back to me, yes I’m truly too lazy to go get it myself, I don’t do bus rides beyond the city center boundaries.

bigstock-old-broken-bike-26064467

So after my bike was save and sound, I got a little present for him, a pretty, pink lock! Not only to find my pretty, pink lock a day after I got it, cut in half on the floor in front of central station. My bike was gone again! I started walking home, figuring someone stole my wheels and it was gone for good. I only walked a few steps when I looked to my left and what did I see? My bike, with a different lock on it! The nerve and not to mention stupidity to steal my bike and park it only a few meters from it’s original spot! As I touched the lock, it came off by itself, it wasn’t even working properly, loser bike thieves! I took my bike home and bought a bigger, better lock. No more pretty, pink locks for me!

After a few months I was surprised my bike and I were still together. Sure in the meantime I’ve pot several new chains on it, new tires, actually new everything. My bike can’t seem to keep it together and has seen the cycle repair guy more often than me. He has cost me like the quadruple of his original price, if not more. But I still love him, oh so much. And I guess it’s real love, because even though he disappears sometimes, he always finds his way back to me. But lately I’ve been asking myself, what have you done for me lately? My bike just costs my a fortune and gives me headaches, I can find those qualities just as well in men, at least they give me something in return, if you know what I mean.

janet

My precious has been sleeping over at grand central station for the past weeks, I’m mad at him. His tire broke, I’m not lying, 4 days in a row, after I got it fixed 4 times in a row! I’m pretty sure he’s doing it on purpose. I kinda started believing that my bike is cursed, by it’s previous owner. What goes around comes around right? I’ll just leave him at grand central for now, until I find a new love. Too bad it didn’t work out between us, but I hope he’ll find a new owner soon, or find his way back to his old, curse giving crush.

Love,
Lina 

Leave a Reply

