4 Seasons of Fall

It’s finally here! The first rays of sun, trees in bloom, flowery dresses and cappuccinos in the park. Springtime! While for a lot of countries the first day of spring is one to be celebrated, when living in Holland, you don’t get to enjoy the perks of spring. Why not you ask? Well, simply because it’s not here, yet.

singingintherain

Source

Having 4 seasons of different kind of weather isn’t my ideal way of living, I’d rather have 4 seasons of hot summer fun and some palmtrees on the side. But at least 4 different seasons means having the opportunity to choose different fashion items every 3 months. And freezing your fanny off in the mean wintertime will have you extra excited when summer finally shows it’s sunny face.

In Holland, we used to have 4 seasons. But it seems like lately, there has only been 1 season throughout the year… FALL. (Thanks global warming) It rains like almost every day, the sky is always grey and it has been cold since September 2015. Even in the summer, your umbrella is your key fashion accessory and summer dresses don’t always see the light of day.  I didn’t sign up for this climate! I had my hopes up for the first day of spring, but this was my view today.

Amsterdam
Doesn’t look like spring to me! I think the Dutch weather is the reason us Dutchies travel a lot and can be spotted all over the globe, where it’s sunny. It’s also the reason we hog every terrace we can, armed in shorts and flip-flops when it’s 12 degrees Celsius BUT with a tiny ray of sunshine. Hooray! That’s why I have my mind set on finding a fabulous job as a travel-to-tropical-island blogger or better yet, just the tropical island without the job.

I’m saving every penny for a plane ticket to The Bahamas, but until then I’ll just wait for that first glimpse of sun. After all, there is something charming about knitted scarfs, hot chocolate and candlelight while binge watching Making a Murderer when it’s cold outside, right?

mermaid

Source

At least I’ll have the first day of summer to look forward to…Hold on summer dresses, better days are coming!

Hang in there Dutchies!

Love,
Lina

 

Leave a Reply

